Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

Darwin’s Theory: Not the Status Quo

Posted by Chris on March 10, 2010

Before reading, you may want to read my introduction which includes why I’m reading The Origin of Species, my scientific beliefs about evolution, and my theological beliefs about creation.

——

I’ve heard that Darwin had been a Christian, or that his wife was a Christian, and that they struggled to reconcile evolution and faith.  I don’t know if this is true, and I think that I’ll wait until I finish the book to find out– I’d like to consider it as much as possible on its merits and as little as possible on outside information and biases, of which there I already have plenty.

In the Introduction, he gives an overview of the ideas he will present in the book, and it is clear that they are radical in the world of biology/science (or whomever was the target audience).  Likely, that meant radical to the world at large, as science for a long time was intermingled with religious studies.  This quote encapsulates what I’m trying to get across:

the view which most naturalists entertain, and which I formerly entertained–namely, that each species has been independently created–is erroneous.  I am fully convinced that species are not immutable; but that those belonging to what are called the same genera are lineal descendants of some other and generally extinct species…

The “view which most naturalists entertain” sounds like a view that would jive with a literal reading of Genesis 1-2.  The marine animals and birds are created on the 5th day; land animals on the sixth day; Adam gives all of the above individual names.  So I read Darwin’s dissension as one that is not limited to his professional field, but one that signified a philosophical and spiritual schism.  As I said above, I will make no presumptions about his personal beliefs at the moment.  But we can all agree that at this point, darwinian philosophy and christian theology are believed to be mutually exclusive with the logic underlying evolution as the great gap between the two.

Must this be so?  I don’t know.  I’ll be looking out for clues as to whether Darwin thought so as I read the book.

Christian theology teaches that there is a deep spiritual divide that should all be concerned about– a divide between the God and sin.  For Christians, we celebrate that

as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12

For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men.  Titus 2:11

Gap-covering grace can bring reconciliation to anyone and anything.

2 Responses to “Darwin’s Theory: Not the Status Quo”

  1. […] point of Darwin creates a tangent to this post about how Darwin’s writing shows a rejection and rebellion against some common ideas that […]

  2. […] I said in this post, I am intentionally avoiding biographical information about Darwin.  However, I am becoming […]

Leave a Reply

 
