Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

Fantasy football draft

Posted by Chris on August 31, 2008

My main league, in which this is my 6th year participating, had its offline draft today.  Most of the guys gathered in Chapel Hill but I was here in Illinois.  We have a 10-team league, mostly standard scoring (30 yds passing/pt and 6 pts/TD pass are two differences) with no flex starter.  I had the 10th pick, so back-to-back in a snake draft.  We are starting a keeper league this year so that affected my drafting a little bit (taking fliers on some young guys near the end of the draft, and in who I would pick first and who second on my back to backs).

I did things a bit unconventionally but the draft went about as well as I could have hoped.  I got 2 RBs with potential to be solid starters in Rounds 3 and 4, and one of my top defenses and Tight Ends even though I waited till many had already been picked.  Here’s my team:

Starters

QB: Tony Romo
RB: Willie Parker
RB: Darren McFadden
WR: Terrell Owens
WR: Roddy White
WR: Joey Galloway
TE: Tony Scheffler
K: none [will pick up before week 1, or possibly after week 1]
DEF: New England (even though I rout against them about as much as any team)

Bench
Josh Morgan, WR, 49ers
Philip Rivers
Chester Taylor, RB, Vikings
Michael Turner, RB, Falcons
Matt Forte, RB, Bears
Ted Ginn, JR
Tim Hightower, RB, Cardinals
Dustin Keller, TE, Jets

The season starts on Thursday!!!

Leave a Reply

 
