Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

Durga Puja revisited, in song

Posted by Chris on May 18, 2008

Last year, when I was in Kolkata, India, one of the most interesting cultural experiences was the Durga Puja holiday, which I blogged about several times. You can click the India tab and search for those posts.. I’d make a link but they are really jacked up right now because of the blog-host-switching– all the links are to pictures at the old site, which no longer works, and I have not fixed that yet. But you can read about it in my posts.

Something else I’ve blogged about: Pandora radio, http://www.pandora.com. You put in an artist or song name, it produces streaming radio of songs which share some of the 100s or 1000s of musical facets Pandora has identified.

One of my stations: Panjabi MC. It’s an Indian MC with one song that I like, called Beware of the Boys, mainly for the beat– the bass line from Timbaland & Magoo’s “Clock Strikes” with Indian string riffs over top of that and him chanting/singing. The rest of the music that comes on is slower, more typical of classical Indian music.

After listening to Beware of the Boys, a song came up called “Durga Puja.” So of course I had to listen. Pretty straightforward Indian music. Just thought it was interesting. Even more interesting is that the artist is Algerian but has put out different kind of mixes based on world music. See more about DJ Cheb i Sabbah and listen to a sample of that song at Pandora’s site.

2 Responses to “Durga Puja revisited, in song”

  1. ray said

    Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be wow.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on Indian music took my particular attention as it is an interesting topic of mine too ;)

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. :)

    Cheers,

  2. Chris said

    What is IIMA?
    why don’t I popularize.. probably 2 reasons: I don’t know how to (not easily/passively), and it doesn’t matter to me that much- I write things for myself first, others second– at least, most of the time. Holds me accountable.

Leave a Reply

 
