Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

I’ve been writing, I promise!

Posted by Chris on May 13, 2008

Unfortunately, I’ve been writing a lot of cover letters.  And editing resumes.  I’ve also done some more fun writing, putting together a report and emails/messages for people on various networks for an organization I am part of that is promoting business creation in the US’ 20 poorest rural counties.  Perhaps I will talk about that more later.

I’ve received some good advice, challenging, abrasive advice in the last month about my job search.  It has been very helpful.  I appreciate people who are bold enough to, as I say, “tell me the business.”  It really is the most loving thing.  As a result of that and circumstances, I’m now spending most of my energy applying for jobs outside of Champaign-Urbana.

I am primarily applying to consulting firms right now, although not limited to that.  Over the next couple weeks I’ll be getting feedback, either denials or interviews, because unlike all these employers around here, most of these places will review your resume and give you an answer fairly quickly.  That should be helpful in knowing if I need to change something, set my sights lower, or that I am making progress!  In the meantime, I just got a job that will be through the end of September as a leasing agent for a property management company that deals with the college student market.

The NBA playoffs have been a bit disappointing, although this week is looking good- 3 of the 4 second round series are tied 2-2.  The Chris Paul vs. Tony Parker matchup has been fun to watch, at least the small parts I’ve seen.  I wish I knew where I would be living next NBA season– it would mentally help me focus on how I want the NBA draft to play out.  If I’m going to a city with a lottery team (Charlotte, staying in Champaign/Chicago area, Portland) then I would do praying for Derrick Rose.  Actually, now that I think about it, almost all the places I’d prefer going that have NBA teams were in the playoffs.  Philly, DC, ATL, Dallas, New Orleans, Phoenix… most of the lottery teams are in  places I definitely don’t want to be (NYC, Milwaukee, the Sonics when they move to Oklahoma City, LA…)

Leave a Reply

 
