Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

Wild Hog Motorcycle Rally

Posted by Chris on April 26, 2008

This weekend is one of extra-ordinary excitement in Helena as it is time for the annual Wild Hog music festival and bike rally. I went down there tonight to check it out, as I always wondered what it would be like to see Helena revived– folks walking around downtown, shops and clubs open that are normally closed.

This is not a huge event, although you are certainly aware of it. Throughout the day we heard motorcyclists revving their engines. I walked up to the gate to find out that there was a $10 admission. I really only wanted to see what it looked like and buy a funnel cake, if they had them, so I did not enter. I did talk to the people in charge of the entrance who were from the Little Rock chapter of the Christian Motorcycle Association. Apparently, CMA is huge and international- “my wife just got her membership and she’s number 131,000” I was told.

I was speaking with one gentleman about the music and he said that it was some guy who’s name I’ve already forgotten from Grand Funk Railroad– umm, yea, sorry, I’m not a fan of the Railroad. Then there’s a Lynyrd Skynyrd cover band. I said, “oh, I’m from North Carolina so I have to like Skynyrd a little bit.”

The line of the night was his response, given in a very thick southern drawl: “I’m from Alabama, so I have to like Lynyrd Skynyrd a lot.”

I was told that 4-5000 people will be here over the 2-day rally. The blues festival in the fall is much bigger apparently. Perhaps I’ll make it back one day for that as well.

One Response to “Wild Hog Motorcycle Rally”

  1. Chris said

    Helena, Arkansas

Leave a Reply

 
