Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

not blogging!

Posted by Chris on April 17, 2008

I’ve been pretty busy, at least for me, the past couple weeks. I’ve been working 2 jobs, around 50-55 hours, during April– alot of time for me! Especially when I desire to spend 3 hours at the gym playing basketball and lifting weights on some nights… I have seemed to go from work to something else to home where I either go to bed or resist going to bed to just relax. I am looking forward to hopefully having my first day off this weekend.

I have been working at a free tax assistance site. Since Apr 15 has passed, there is less work now, obviously. Basically I need to finish up a few things. Friday I’m helping some friends move so hopefully Saturday afternoon, with perhaps a run to the Post Office on Monday, and I’ll virtually be done.

Next week I’ve planned a little trip down to the Arkansas Delta. I am taking a bus, Megabus, some new company that travels in the Midwest. Only $20 each way! Less than gas, only 7 hrs to Memphis, not that much slower than driving. I plan to do some catching up on blogging and reading during that time. I will hang out with a family of missionaries there, hopefully play with their kids, have a time of refreshment and fasting from my distractions here, as well as helping out with some church teams that are coming from Alabama to do a work project on the old community pool house, which they are converting into a pavilion (when I was there two summers ago, church teams began and at some point completed construction of the new pool house).

In the meantime, I have to survive 3.5 more days of test-scoring, another temporary job I’ve gotten myself into. I have scored the same question over 2000 times now, and it’s getting a bit old.

In the meantime, I’ll drop some interesting links at the bottom of the post and finish at least one post I started earlier.

Extended Forecast: Bloodshed is Nick Kristoff’s latest article on the importance of taking action to protect the environment. He discusses something I had never thought of- the link between poor environmental conditions and war. I knew that poverty could lead to war/genocide (the scarcity of resources = the hoarding of resources = people who don’t have fighting to get). Naturally, poor environment which leads to poverty leads to war as well. He cites some research that show how witch hunts in Africa are being precipitated by poor weather and hypothesizes that poor weather may have had a link to witch hunts in the US and Europe several hundred years ago.
I am big into recycling. Actually, I’m big into a lot of environmental stuff, at least, for someone who drives a car, eats meat, etc… I’ve noticed lately that I’m running out of patience for people who are wasteful, lazy about small things that protect the earth, etc… Kristoff’s article is another reason to be concerned. Resolved: I will stop thinking poorly of other’s people’s actions, and speak up instead. It’s part of being salt and light in this culture for me, of that I am convinced. I hope that I will speak up, whether it’s my neighbors upstairs that kind of intimidate me, my roommate I barely know, or a boss at work.

Despite saying that, I’m not all that pro-Ethanol. The Environmental Economics blog points out how ethanol promotion in the West can lead to more hunger and poverty in the third world. Ethanol Dominoes: Are corn ethanol subsidies really taxes on the poor? The average pro-alternative fuels America is, in my opinion, more concerned with financial and political matters than environmental. If you look merely at supply and demand, it’s simple economics. An upward shift in the demand curve will result in a new price equilibrium at a higher level of supply but a higher price, pricing out poorer people who just want to eat. Similarly, while you may save more at the gas pump, you will pay more for your food.

A Baby born with two faces in India is being worshiped as a reincarnation of the Hindu goddess Durga. Durga is one of the big gods in Kolkata. In fact, I was there for Durga Puja (worship) which is the most popular Puja for ethnic Bengalis. You could read more about my experience with that over here and then here (videos don’t work until I finish updating this blog site from the old one).

One Response to “not blogging!”

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

Leave a Reply

 
