Chris' Original Blogbeque

A fresh, vinegar-based examination of life

“And when it comes to playin’ basketball…”

Posted by Chris on March 25, 2008

so goes a lyric from arguably the best rap song of all-time, “I Wish”, by Skee-Lo.

(I wish I was a little bit taller, I wish I was a baller, I wish I had a girl who looked good I would call her… does that ring a bell? This is from about 1996).

I am seriously making some sick passes lately. The other day, in one game, we’re talking two or three left handed passes to guys for layups in one game. I’m not improving at basketball, because it has come at the expense of my jump shot and finishing at the basket. But it’s pretty cool. I get more of a rush now for setting a guy up for a perfect layup than anything else on offense (it’s hard to top “ripping” a guy’s dribble on defense).

I am telling myself that I am going to make another run at trying to dunk over the summer. Several years ago, a combination of more leg-lifting, running stairs, using platform shoes, swimming, and running got me very close until the infamous broken/dislocated/fractured finger that required surgery. I have found that my willpower is so weak though, and not just in basketball. I come home and say I won’t eat more food, and I eat popcorn. I want to have more godly thoughts at my job so I set out to pray briefly before I work with each client, but then forget about this before even starting.

Paul writes:

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing.

Romans 7:15,18-19

I am beginning to recognize more and more my frailty, my lack of willpower. I used to consider myself someone with more than average willpower. My willpower has not decreased. Rather, I have had my eyes opened to areas of little self-control that have always been present. Thus, I have a double motivation. First, I do not want to compartmentalize my life- higher standards for “spiritual life” and lower standards for “regular life.” So I am convicted of my lack of self-control once again and should turn to the Lord for grace.

But, in a cool way, I believe God allows an opportunity to use worldly things to my advantage. Learning better self-control would be wonderful in and of itself. But another goal ::DUNKING THE BASKETBALL:: can also spur me to pursue self-control.

Rather than setting my basketball aspirations and spiritual convictions at odds, it is permissible to pursue them simultaneously. May it be beneficial as well.

As a fun ending to this post, I will display pictures of where I am now, and where I want to be, as demonstrated by one Mr. Manu Ginobli.

[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/IGCelYVAQdQ" width="425" height="350" wmode="transparent" /]
This is what I do now. It’s “nice.”

[kml_flashembed movie="http://www.youtube.com/v/eVICUds1X4k" width="425" height="350" wmode="transparent" /]
This is what i want to do. It’s super.

Leave a Reply

 
